La Cuisson

I’d actually caught La Cuisson (previously known as “French Inspired”, previously at Holland Drive) on some channel U show that was airing late at night because there was nothing much else to watch on the tele. I caught a glance of angus beef which looked beautiful sitting on a bed of mash, and thought, I must eat that.

And these are usually the starts of culinary adventures – I catch sight of something delicious looking and I wouldn’t be able to stop thinking about it until I get a taste of it. Which, in this case, was rather troublesome, because the episode had been filmed a few months back, I was unaware that the place was 1. renamed and 2. relocated. So I actually took a cab from Holland Village and found myself at Prinsep Street, with parents in tow. Along with the move came the removal of that beef dish, and an increase in prices as well, but the chef mentioned that it’s justified since they’ve introduced some premium ingredients imported from France.

Thank goodness the food was worth it.

image

Pork and Kiwi, $14

Sous vide kurobuta pork neck served on a bed of sliced kiwi and topped with jamon iberico and … lard. Such a good starter, the pork was perfectly done and the kiwi and jamon were pretty unusual pairings that went well with it.

image

Escargots, $10

Disclaimer: I don’t really like escargots, I think, save for the cheap ones at Saizeriya  that don’t taste like escargots as well. My dad thought this was really good though.

image

Duck Rilette, $8

Good, a little too gamey for my mum but I liked it!

image image

Angus Hanging Tender, $26 We had this medium rare and it was such a pity that the cut was kind of stringy and hard to chew. Good taste wise, mash was nice, buttery and smooth.

image

Mushroom Pasta, $16

Roasted wild mushrooms (imported from France wor), sous vide egg, topped with parmesan shavings and truffle oil. How could you not drool at that description! If you had to choose one and one dish only to eat at this restaurant, this one should be it. It was so good, I would go so far as to say it’s something I’d definitely crave for. Plus the egg really adds another dimension to the texture.

VERY NICE. PLEASE ORDER.

image

Bacon and Prawn Pasta, $19

Although the pasta was done well, prawns were succulent and bacon lardons super tasty, it really paled in comparison to the mushroom pasta. Not denying it wasn’t good though. I generally like that their pasta is well done and the sauce really complements it, instead of overpowering it or making it soggy.

image

Dark Chocolate Ganache, $13

The chocolate tasted really good! Chef mentioned it was flown in from France as well. But I was really full and couldn’t finish it all. It’s quite rich, so if you’re planning to have this remember to save some space.

image

There’s enough room at the first floor for about ten diners, more space upstairs for 30-50.

Verdict? La Cuisson definitely makes french dining more affordable to le normal people like us, without stinging on quality. Of what I had, I’d recommend the pork and kiwi, and the mushroom pasta. Especially the mushroom pasta; it’s something worth travelling for and something I’d come back for. The rest? Not bad la.

La Cuisson (not le cuisson, and no longer at Holland Drive!)
44 Prinsep Street, Prinsep place, Singapore 188673 (near Strictly Pancakes)
Tel: 8332 0302

Opening Hours:
Tue – Fri: 17:30 – 23:00
Sat: 10:00 – 14:30, 17:30 – 23:00
Sun: 10:00 – 14:30

Leave a Reply

