So I went back to NYGH to talk to a bunch of Sec 3s…

Initially I was reluctant because I don’t think I’m a suitable giver-of-advice and it’s actually pretty daunting to speak to fifteen year olds… at first I didn’t quite remember what it was like to be fifteen, but I dug out some stuff and the memories came flooding back. And even more memories came flooding back when I was back at the campus!

In any case, here are my slides:

The main gist is that you can use the Internet to do things beyond yourself! The possibilities are endless, and if someone like me can do it, what’s stopping fifteen year olds? They’re wayyyy more well versed in stuff like social media and blogs, and they have the access to the support of the school and fellow students.
Anyway, it all turned out well. Of course, Nanyang Girls are very polite and respectful (in front of me) and unlike the terrors I heard of elsewhere hehe. I even overran my time – couldn’t take questions. If any of you happen to be lurking, feel free to send me an email or tweet me ok? I don’t have all the answers, but I’ll be happy to help in whatever way I can. To the three that personally came up to me to chat, thank you so much for your feedback and I was really really happy to speak to you guys!! It meant a lot to get positivity from you girls, a decade younger. More than I ever thought it would. In fact, it’s a pretty nice feeling to be socially validated by fifteen year olds. HA.
I spent a good amount of time just eating at the canteen and wandering around, especially at the art department. Studying for Os and other exams were really stressful back then, but on hindsight, I miss those years so much. Mrs Tan caught me smiling outside her art history class like a creep and invited me in… I was secretly thrilled because I saw a lot of familiar art pieces, even concept boards lying around. 2004 AEP girls – we’ve left our mark hehe.

image

Nanyang’s campus has got to be the best designed building I’ve ever schooled in btw. It’s gorgeous!

Here’s an interesting new addition:

image

They have a self-run cafe called 4 degrees cafe that was established to sustain the plant / herb garden just outside (where students can also sit at). Coffee grounds go into the compost bin and is turned into fertilizer that helps these plants grow. While I was sitting there, I overheard the teacher in charge teaching them about how to run a business, how to serve customers and how to make coffee. Such a lucky bunch!

I WANNA BE FIFTEEN AGAIN.

2 thoughts on “So I went back to NYGH to talk to a bunch of Sec 3s…

  1. & by the way, in case you didn’t know– you’re awesome. You’ve done so much with your life in so many aspects. Respect you much, Steph!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

