5 Ways of Killing Your Pitch to a Blogger

I am in no way a hardcore / commercial blogger, and I started this blog without the goal of boosting viewerships or for monetary gain. That aside, this humble blog has made its way to the hands of some PR / marketing people, and a handful have sent me terrible pitches. I write this with a smattering of PR / digital marketing experience. I won’t say I’m a pro. In fact I think a lot of this is common sense, it’s a list for the handful who don’t seem to have it.

I’m also limiting this scope to bloggers in Singapore because I assume there are only a handful of bloggers with high reach and visibility that get pitches all the time, and who won’t accept pitches that aren’t done right. I’m not sure if the same runs with bloggers elsewhere, but I believe these are things you shoudn’t be doing lah, whoever you’re pitching to.

Here’s a list of 5 things NOT to do while pitching to a Singaporean blogger:
1. “Dear Blogger”
This is cold, impersonal, and tells the person receiving it that you couldn’t care less about your correspondence. It doesn’t take rocket science to figure out a blogger’s name. Check the landing page, about page, or the contact me page. Check the Twitter page. The Facebook page. If all else fails, use his/her pseudonym. Anything beats this. How would you like to receive a reply that reads “Dear Marketer Sending Me This Email”?

2. “Here’s what we want you to do”
These emails usually read –

Dear (whatever’sinfrontofthe@ofyouremail),
(Le brand) is embarking on (this campaign, and here I tell you about the goals of the campaign, and how it’s going to work.)
What we would like to achieve from your blog post (& I QUOTE THIS PHRASE FROM AN ACTUAL EMAIL)
(A list of objectives they should be hitting as marketers)
• (i.e., drive awareness and conversions)
Hope to hear from you soon.
Cheers,
The Marketer Sending You This Email.
[insert press release here]

NooOOoOOoO! I wouldn’t even reply to such emails! Why should I be giving you free publicity? What’s in it for me? How is this good content for my blog? How would readers benefit from your campaign? How are you going to help me help you? Why should I care about your KPIs??? Are you asking me to do your job???
NooOOOoOOOO!

3. Sending Press Releases (& only that.)
Not even gonna.

4. Lengthy Things
Leave the boring details out of emails please! If they are essential, try to present them in the least boring way possible (usually pictorial representations help.) Also try not to make bloggers blog over an extended period of time, with mechanics that are troublesome to execute. It kills the spirit of your campaign, plus could potentially make for very bad, tiresome content.

5. Going Off-Tangent
Thankfully, truly specialized bloggers are far and few in between in Singapore – we have a bunch of lifestyle bloggers as well as beauty, food and tech bloggers who aren’t picky with the kind stuff they feature. That means, if the incentive is good enough ($$$), they’re willing to weasel your brand in. That also means it is very hard to pitch something completely unrelated. HOWEVER, there are still instances. Like pitching events that happen during working hours to bloggers who work; or unrelated things like baby stuff to a someone who clearly doesn’t have a kid and is not planning to.

‘Nuff said. Any more pet peeves?

2 thoughts on “5 Ways of Killing Your Pitch to a Blogger

  1. Well, I have nothing to say about PR folks who just send press releases except they should be fired, but beyond that, I also I hate how they think inviting me for an event or sending me some freebies automatically entitles them to a blogpost and Tweets about them, then keep hassling me about when my blogpost is gonna be up.

    I also dislike PR folks who don’t do their HW. I once had a PR person invite me for a small sit down dinner with another blogger (I didn’t know it was just a 2-person thing) and the blogger is someone I’ve had some issues with in the past. MEGA AWWWWKKKWARRRDD. Painful 2 hr dinner. I wouldn’t mind attending an event with that blogger in attendance as well, but if it’s gonna be a small intimate dinner thing, find out if they get along in the first place lah, right?

  2. Pingback: Blogdash Blog » Blog Archive » Common Mistakes in Blogger Outreach

Leave a Reply

